7 June 2021 TBA
Twelfth WTO Ministerial Conference

World Trade Organization (WTO) members had agreed that the organization’s Twelfth Ministerial Conference (MC12) would take place in June 2020 in Kazakhstan, which joined the WTO in 2015. The event was originally scheduled to take place from 8-11 June in Nur-Sultan. 

On 12 March 2020, the Government of Kazakhstan announced that it would no longer host this meeting due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the WTO announced that consultations will be held to decide how to proceed with provisions for MC12. The event is currently expected to take place in June 2021. 

The Ministerial Conference, which is attended by trade ministers and other senior officials from the organization’s 164 members, is the highest decision-making body of the WTO. Under the Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the WTO, the Ministerial Conference is to meet at least once every two years. The last Ministerial Conference took place in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in December 2017.

date: 7 June 2021 [tentative]
location: TBA
www: https://www.wto.org/english/thewto_e/minist_e/mc12_e/mc12_e.htm

related articles