22-24 August 2023 Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
15th BRICS Summit

The 15th BRICS Summit will be hosted by South Africa.

The BRICS countries, Brazil, the Russian Federation, India, China, and South Africa, convene for a BRICS Leaders’ Summit annually. Discussions focus on spheres of political and socioeconomic coordination, in which member countries have identified business opportunities, economic complementarities, and areas of cooperation.

As the Chair of BRICS, South Africa is focusing on the theme, ‘BRICS and Africa: Partnership for Mutually Accelerated Growth, Sustainable Development, and Inclusive Multilateralism’. This theme informs South Africa’s five priorities for 2023: developing a partnership towards an equitable just transition, including managing the risks associated with climate change; transforming education and skills development for the future; unlocking opportunities through the African Continental Free Trade Area; strengthening post-pandemic socioeconomic recovery and the attainment of the 2030 Agenda on Sustainable Development; and strengthening multilateralism, including reform of global governance institutions and strengthening the meaningful participation of women in peace processes.

To receive SDG event notices, news, and analysis in your inbox, subscribe.

To share information about your organization’s activities related to this event, subscribe to our peer-to-peer SDG list.

dates: 22-24 August 2023
location: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
www: https://www.thepresidency.gov.za/press-statements/south-africa-finalises-15th-brics-summit-format