24 July 2018
Doha Amendment Reaches 112 Ratifications
Photo by Patrick Hendry
story highlights

The Doha Amendment to the UNFCCC Kyoto Protocol has reached 112 ratifications.

At 144 ratifications, or when three-quarters of Kyoto Protocol Parties have ratified it, the Doha Amendment will enter into force.

3 May 2018: Eritrea, Vanuatu and Venezuela have brought the number of Doha Amendment ratifications to 112. The Amendment is now 32 ratifications away from entry into force.

The Doha Amendment establishes the Protocol’s second commitment period from 2013-2020. It was adopted by Decision 1/CMP.8 at the eighth session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (CMP 8), in Doha, Qatar, in 2012.

Since February 2018, three Parties have ratified the Amendment, bringing the total number of ratifications to 112. Eritrea submitted its instrument of acceptance on 3 May 2018; Vanuatu on 15 March 2018; and Venezuela on 1 March 2018.

The Amendment will enter into force when 144 or three-quarters of Parties to the Kyoto Protocol have submitted their instruments of acceptance to the Depositary. [Status of the Doha Amendment] [UN Treaty Collection Doha Amendment Webpage] [Doha Amendment]

related events