27 August 2019
Doha Amendment 14 Ratifications from Entry into Force
Photo credit: Anastasia Palagutina/Unsplash
story highlights

The Doha Amendment has reached 130 ratifications.

At 144 ratifications, the Amendment will enter into force.

15 July 2019: With one month to go before the UN Secretary-General’s Climate Action Summit, which is expected to catalyze climate action and ramp up ambition, the SDG Knowledge Hub looks at the status of ratification of the Doha Amendment to the Kyoto Protocol. Since our last ratification update on 20 November 2018, eight countries have ratified the Amendment.

The Doha Amendment establishes the Kyoto Protocol’s second commitment period from 2013-2020. It was adopted by Decision 1/CMP.8 at the eighth session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (CMP 8), in Doha, Qatar, in 2012.

Since November 2018, eight Parties have ratified the Amendment, bringing the total number of ratifications to 130. Dominica submitted its instrument of acceptance on 15 July 2019; Kuwait on 8 May 2019; Lao People’s Democratic Republic (PDR) on 23 April 2019; Lesotho on 18 January 2019; Mongolia on 20 February 2019; Montenegro on 26 December 2018; Nicaragua on 3 July 2019; and Paraguay on 21 February 2019.

The Amendment will enter into force when 144 Parties, or three-quarters of Parties to the Kyoto Protocol, have submitted their instruments of acceptance to the Depositary. It is now 14 ratifications away from entry into force. [Status of the Doha Amendment] [UN Treaty Collection Doha Amendment Webpage] [Doha Amendment] [SDG Knowledge Hub Doha Amendment Ratification Update 20 November 2018]

related events

related posts